On a bright Spring morning we decided to drive up to the Panayia area, which lies North East of Limassol, our first stop was the Chrysorrogiatissa Monastery “Our Lady of the Golden Pomegranate” which dates from the 12th Century. It was founded by a monk named Ignatius in 1152.
Our next stop was at the Ayia Moni Monastery, this monastery has its own winery and dates from the 10 or 12 century. We then popped into the Kolios winery for a coffee and to buy a few bottles of their suberb wine.
We then stopped of for lunch at the picturesque village of Amargeti with its outdoor relics from years of producing wine. The main Church in the village is dedicated to Zoodochos Pigi (Life giving Spring.)
Near to the village Square there is a small selection of wine presses and other wine making tools of days gone by.